Annoying Americans Visit Andratx

Okay, so that’s not really fair since my hubbie is Peruvian, not American, but he did live in the U.S. these last 14 years, 9 of which were with me, so sometimes it feels like he’s an American. Anyhoo, as promised – to myself and my five or so readers – last weekend I made my first real excursion in Mallorca to Port d’Andratx with my hubbie and seven month old. Why did we choose to start here? Good question. I don’t really know, but I think it might have something to do with it being close to Puigpunyent, where we live, and we’re working our way out town by town, maybe.

The municipality and town of Andratx (pronounced “Andratch”) is snuggly nestled in the southwestern corner of the Sierra de Tramontana, the main mountain range here in Mallorca, boasts a lovely little harbor, and produces almonds, carob, figs, citrus, “Santa Catarina” wine and lots and lots of tourists.

Yes folks, this is where the well-heeled Euro set comes to play, or lunch and stroll as it were. And I don’t blame them. The small port town is charming and the main drag along the water is lined with attractive little shops and restaurants, all of which have patios across the oh-so-narrow-street right on the water, which is temptingly clear blue and gorgeous by the way. What more could Michael Douglas and Catherine Zeta-Jones ask for? Apparently, they live in Mallorca, as my mother-in-law frequently reminds me. Port d’Andratx actually reminds me of Sausalito in the California Bay Area, but with more German tourists and the friendly Mallorquis people.

What are some travel tips, you ask? What am I, Rick Steves? I’m an American expat who just moved here and is now fumbling her way through Mallorca, not to mention this new life in general, not a travel writer. We enjoyed the drive, had some lunch at one of many bistros, called Porto Bello, walked around, took a few pics and went home.

Of course no excursion would be complete without the amusing search for a bathroom with a changing table. Here’s a hint, there aren’t any. But the very kind patrons of Porto Bello helped me prepare a makeshift one. Don’t worry, it probably wasn’t anywhere you’d eat. A word to the wise, though. If you’re new to Spanish cooking, be prepared to eat lots of oil, they can’t cook without it and my digestive system is very sorry to learn that.

Here are some pictures (not of the makeshift changing table or my digestive system) Happy travels!

Port d'Andratx

Port d’Andratx

Port d'Andratx

Port d’Andratx

Main drag, calle something-er-other

Main drag, calle something-er-other

Porto Bello Restaurant

Porto Bello Restaurant

Our table at Porto Bello

Our table at Porto Bello

View from the road on the way home

View from the road on the way home

Me and the fam

Me and the fam

One thought on “Annoying Americans Visit Andratx

  1. Pingback: I Still Can’t Believe We’re Doing This: An Expat Year in Review | lostinspainblog

Leave a Reply

