A Local Festivus for the Rest of Us

Last weekend I discovered something really cool about the local ferias (that’s “Festival” in Spanish, my friends) in my new hometown, Puigpunyent (pooch-poon-yent), Mallorca. It means yummy treats and gorgeous artisanal goods are paraded around right outside my door!

Our first feria experience of the year was the May “Fira Ecològica Pagesa Artesana de Puigpunyent.” Now, I don’t speak Catalan (I know… lame…), but it means something about eco-artisanal festival of Puigpunyent, or something to that effect.

So, on Saturday or Sunday of last weekend (no, I don’t remember which day exactly. They’re all starting to run together. It must be mom brain…) I was trying to put my nine month old down for her late morning nap when suddenly we were barraged by a parade of bagpipers playing some delightful folk tune on what sounded like our front porch. Yah, there’s no way Fiona was going to sleep now. So, I collected her from her crib and headed out to the front of the house where, SORPRESA, there was actually a small band of bagpipers and Mallorquins in authentic peasant costume passing by. How cool is that?!

The local fair was literally on our doorstep. Somehow, unbeknownst to us, the entire to do had been set up and kicked off without us even realizing it. Talk about living in our own little world. Anyhoo, it was super fun and chock full of beautiful arts and crafts, pastries, dry meats and yummy cheeses that smell like feet, produce, textiles and other interesting and delicious sundries. We participated in our very first honey tasting – I now have a honey addiction problem, tried cava – a delightful combination of champagne and fruit, ate too many sweets and bought Fiona some homemade finger puppets – yes, we found the characters to tell her the story of Little Red Riding Hood, thank you very much – and a few other baby toys we just HAD to have. There was even a clown show for the kids. They were called Flip y Flop and call me crazy, but they seemed more appropriate for grown ups, since Flop, the delightfully pudgy man clown kept shouting the word “CULO!” which literally means anus, whenever he got the chance. Maybe it’s another one of those cultural things I don’t get. I would say it was hilarious, but that would mean I was childish and vulgar, which couldn’t possibly be true.

At any rate, good times were had by all.

Traditional Mallorquin pottery

Traditional Mallorquin pottery

Typical Mallorquin straw bags

Typical Mallorquin straw bags

What would Spain be without chorizo and stinky cheese?

What would Spain be without chorizo and stinky cheese?

Nummy treats my Austrian neighbor made

Nummy treats my Austrian neighbor made

Food stuffs from the local bakery. Hmmmm. Bread.

Food stuffs from the local bakery. Hmmmm. Bread.

HONEY!

HONEY!

Handmade soaps...

Handmade soaps…

From the local nursery...

From the local nursery…

Fiona and I scoping things out while my hubbie snaps a candid

Fiona and I scoping things out while my hubbie snaps a candid

Daddy and Fiona taking it all in

Daddy and Fiona taking it all in

Super cool bagpipers

Super cool bagpipers

At night...until 3 a.m. btw

At night…until 3 a.m. btw

THE END

THE END

One thought on “A Local Festivus for the Rest of Us

  1. Pingback: I Still Can’t Believe We’re Doing This: An Expat Year in Review | lostinspainblog

Leave a Reply

