Pool Time in Palma Paradise

I don’t know about you all, but I have lots of mostly good childhood memories of long hot summers with endless days at the pool. Living in San Francisco these last nine years, though, I was lucky to see a day with temps above 60. Not that I ever complained. That sort of weather suited me just fine.

But it’s nice to live in sunny Palma de Mallorca, where it gets super warm and the oh so chilly water of the local piscina tempts you to dip a toe, or entire body, into its shallow depths. I’m not a huge seaside fan. Spending a day at the beach is beautiful, but I prefer the pool where the salt doesn’t make me all sticky, sand doesn’t get lodged in awkward places and the waves don’t push me down, and oh yeah, sharks don’t eat me.

Here in Puigpunyent, a small town just outside of Palma, the local pool is just about a 2 minute walk from my house and we have the place to ourselves during the week and on Sunday until about 3 p.m. when the locals start to show up. It’s heaven for the entire family at 80 euros for the season. Not bad, eh?

I was also pleasantly surprised by the lack of nude and topless people. Not that I have anything against people sporting the au natural look, it’s just that it’s always the folks you’d rather not see in such a state, like those old nude guys that used to hang around the Castro District in San Francisco. Ah, memories.

Check out our little slice if piscina heaven and try not to be blinded by my pasty self…

Fiona and Leo getting ready for some pool shenanigans

Fiona and Leo getting ready for some pool shenanigans

Me and Fiona smiling for the camera

Me and Fiona smiling for the camera

The kiddie pool with a view

The kiddie pool with a view

Knackered and walking home

Knackered and walking home

View of the old town on the walk home

View of the old town on the walk home

One thought on “Pool Time in Palma Paradise

  1. Pingback: I Still Can’t Believe We’re Doing This: An Expat Year in Review | lostinspainblog

Leave a Reply

