I Love Spain Because…

Holiday treats at the corner market in my sleepy little hometown, Puigpunyent

Holiday treats at the corner market in my sleepy little hometown, Puigpunyent

Well it’s officially the holiday season here in good old Spain, and more specifically, Mallorca. How do I know this? The holiday treats are here! The markets and grocery supers all have their holiday decorations out and, more importantly, their holiday fare on display! I’m talking turrónes, polvorónes, panettone, nuts and dried fruits of all kinds, chocolate covered just about everything and more. Oh my! The funny thing is that all of this ten years ago was associated with Los Reyes Magos, which my beloved Spaniards celebrate in early January. But globalization has kicked in and Christmastime is here, including trees, little santas and elves, and lawn reindeer — the works! Woo Hoo!

Maybe this is a sad sign of the diminishing of foreign cultures, but with Christmas in the air even here, it makes me feel a little less homesick. Now I just have to figure out how to keep my little fifteen-month-old out of the tree. Hmmm.

Leave a Reply

