Puigpunyent Feria Kicks off Summer in Mallorca

Ah, the annual feria in my adopted hometown, Puigpunyent Mallorca. The main thing I love about this feria, aside from the adorable artisanal sundries and tasty treats, is that it happens right outside of my front door. This means my lazy self has no excuse not to partake in the charming local tradition AND hubbie and I have something different to entertain our little one with. Yay!

Now like any local festival, in addition to the charming handmade textiles and locally made cheese and chorizo, there is also the unfortunate booth hocking crappy plastic toys, including guns and other assault weapons, and other junk. But hey, one or two in the scheme of things doesn’t hurt too much I suppose. It’s just annoying and a bit disappointing too.

Here’s a visual of what you all missed! You’re welcome 🙂

Pretty textiles. My adorable sister-in-law noticed I liked this and got it for my b-day.

Pretty textiles. My adorable sister-in-law noticed I liked this and got it for my b-day.

Handmade olive oil soap

Handmade olive oil soap

Leather bracelets, earrings and things. Cool, huh?

Leather bracelets, earrings and things. Cool, huh?

Local wine

Local wine

Nummy ensaimadas and other tasty treats.

Nummy ensaimadas and other tasty treats.

Mallorquin chorizo and sobresada. Mmmmm.

Mallorquin chorizo and sobresada. Mmmmm.

Mallorquin cheeses of the smelly and non-smelly varieties. Yes, please!

Mallorquin cheeses of the smelly and non-smelly varieties. Yes, please!

Locals playing traditional music. I love me some bagpipes.

Locals playing traditional music. I love me some bagpipes.

A view from the end of my street.

A view from the end of my street.

 

Leave a Reply

