5 things I hate about Spain

mchammer

Before you Spain lovers get upset, don’t worry, I’ll follow up with a “5 things I love about Spain” post next. I like to save the best for last and since I’m now an official legal resident of Spain – ta da! – I thought I’d share what I hate and love about this interesting country. Bear in mind I live on Mallorca, so some of my pet peeves may or may not apply to the mainland folk, though in most cases they do. Here goes…

LA SIESTA – I know, I know. Who doesn’t like taking naps in the middle of the day? But trust me, when your entire neighborhood shuts down from 1 to 5 p.m. for lunch, see how much you can actually get done in a day. It’s flipping inconvenient, especially since there’s almost nothing open on the weekends. Urgh.

LAS FIESTAS – No, not the holidays. Man I love those. They decorate our little pueblo with white twinkle lights everywhere and it’s precious. I’m talking summer fiestas in August when there’s a week of celebrations and many nights don’t end until 6 a.m. and the bar a few doors down has a party in the street and you literally cannot get any sleep because it sounds like it’s in your living room. And the police are there observing to keep the peace and you go out to ask how this can possibly be legal. Aren’t there noise ordinances in this country? Nope. Not during Las Fiestas. Next year, we will go on vacation to escape. How effing ridiculous is that? I guess I’m getting old or something.

BOHO NOT-SO-CHIC – Really? Is this Bohemian style? Otherwise beautiful women shaving half of their hair off in weird places and wearing MC Hammer pants? If so, you can keep it. Blegh.

UNEMPLOYMENT – Did you know the unemployment rate in Spain is upwards of about 60% for people age 32 and under? It’s an astronomical figure, yes, but what I want to know is, how is this possible? Hubbie and I have jobs, our family has jobs, immigrants that come here have no trouble finding work. So, what gives?

INTERNET SHMINERNET – Coming from the Silicon Valley tech bubble in California and working more than a decade in tech PR, I’m in pain here people. It’s like the Internet was just discovered here and people aren’t sure what to do with it. Websites are just sad, if they even exist, mobile apps are practically non-existent, except of course for the beloved messaging app, WhatsApp. If I want to do ANY online shopping, I have to go to U.S. sites and beg my poor, unsuspecting family members to bring me stuff – at MUCH better prices – when they come to visit., or mail it to me if I’m desperate and willing to pay out the nose.

I know, you feel sorry for me, right?

3 thoughts on “5 things I hate about Spain

  1. Pingback: 5 Things I Love About Spain | lostinspainblog

Leave a Reply

